We represent the majority of Psychotherapists in the Republic of Ireland. We have a mandate to do so from our members. They come from five different traditions of psychotherapy, or different disciplines, but come together in the Council to advocate, educate and to promote psychotherapy.

We are a unique voice for the profession, democratically elected and internationally affiliated to the Euro-wide group charged with maintaining and improving standards, the European Association of Psychotherapy.

Psychotherapy training is intensely academic and experiential and this is reflected in many aspects of the practice. Read the ICP Position Paper 2015.

Find out why ICP Therapists are Different.

Board of Directors

Anne Colgan

Anne Colgan

Chair, ICP - Humanistic & Integrative Psychotherapy Section

Anne has a private practice in Gorey , Co. Wexford. She works in the areas os sexual abuse, bereavement, depression, anxiety/panic attacks, bullying, suicide ideation, separation, stress, post-traumatic stress disorder and anger management.

Anne also works with companies and organisations providing HR expertise specialising in Personality Profiling, Recruitment, Change Management, Conflict Resolution and Outplacement.

Paul Flannery

Paul Flannery

Humanistic and Integrative Section

Paul works as a psychotherapist in private practice in Dublin at Life Change Therapy Centre and in the Student Counselling Service in Trinity College Dublin. He has a higher diploma and a masters in psychotherapy and also sits on the governing body of IAHIP.

Prior to his training in psychotherapy Paul qualified as an Industrial Engineer and has worked in management for 25 years for Irish and International companies.

Helen Jones

Psychoanalytic Section

Valerie O’Brien

Valerie O’Brien

Systemic Psychotherapy Section

Dr Valerie O’Brien is a full time lecturer in the School of Social Policy, Social Work and Social Justice, University College Dublin.

In addition to holding a professional social work qualification; she is also a registered systemic psychotherapist and supervisor and is involved in training and clinical practice in this field.

Geraldine Carroll

Cognitive Behavioural Section

Elisabetta Petitbon

Elisabetta Petitbon

Constructivist Psychotherapies Section

Elisabetta began her career as a Research Psychologist in Italy in 2003. She is working as a clinical psychologist for the Health Services Executive, (HSE), as well as private psychotherapy in English and Italian.

Elisabetta holds a degree in Clinical Psychology, an advanced degree in Constructivist Psychotherapy, a Masters in Psychodiagnostic and Personality Assessment, and a Masters in Training and Human Resources Management.

Liam Silke

Jean Manahan

Jean Manahan


A graduate of University College Dublin, Trinity College Dublin and National University of Ireland Galway, Jean has worked at senior management level in the voluntary /not for profit sector for 25 years most recently as Head of Development with Third Age, as Programme Executive with Atlantic Philanthropies’ Ageing Programme until 2008 and CEO with the Irish Hospice Foundation until 2004.


Fiona Calderon

ICP Administrator